Mont Saint-Michel

Ideas for my book come from many sources, Monarch Island is taken off from Mont Saint-Michel.  The main differences being of course size, Monarch Island in comparison is huge like maybe for example Vancouver Island with a huge population although most of the population of my alien world lives on the mainland coast.

Mont Saint-Michel is an island located less than a mile off France’s northwestern coast. The island contains an abby , monastery and a town. Building off the feudal system that is demonstrated in the construction Mont Saint-Michel,  I used my book, a similiar idea. The main religious temple is on Monarch Island. This temple is the main administration seat for all the Hawk temples in the book. The island is also the the seat of the government, i.e. monarchy.

Besides the buildings and being an island, the bridge to land is another factor  I found interesting. The road is only clear during low tide. So that means the island is cut off by water at times.

Now I took that idea and changed it a bit to make the connection  from the mainland to Monarch Island via a transparent bridge that is only seen at a particular angle at different times of the day. While it is not hidden it is a spectacular vision to see people or horses walk on water in a sense.   There is a  tram system that runs back and forth underground that most of the visitors take, leaving the ‘glass bridge” to be used for spectacular monarchy visiting entrance or tourist attractions.

Enjoy these videos of Mont Saint-Michel  and learn about this real place that helped inspire my fictional place.

 

 

 

 

 

Sources:

http://www.ot-montsaintmichel.com/index.htm?lang=en

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mont_Saint-Michel

 

 

 

About jasterling

One part of my life is in the science of anthropology and archaeology where I did comparative work. My other life that I am now pursuing is writing along the lines of fantasy/sci fi fictional writing as my one way to stay sane in this other insane world. Please enjoy the selections you will find in my blog.
This entry was posted in general information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

